South Dakota Association of County Commissioners Board of Directors Board Meeting Monday, September 13, 2021 MINUTES

The SDACC Board of Directors met on Monday, September 13, 2021 at the Ramkota Hotel, Black Elk Peak meeting room, Rapid City, SD. Roll call was taken with the following members present: Deb Russell, President; Rachel Kippley, 1st Vice President; Dean Karsky, 2nd Vice President; Cindy Heiberger, Past President; Brenda Hanten, Treasurer; Brenda Bode, Casey Krogman, Jim Schmidt, Dean Wagner, Chad Preszler, Lee Gabel and Gary Drewes. Guests include: Clint Farlee, WIR Board Representative; and Randy Deibert, Lawrence County Commissioner. Staff present: Kris Jacobsen, Executive Director; Eric Erickson, SDACC Lobbyist. Absent: Duane Sutton and Bill Floyd. Quorum was established.

President Russell called the meeting to order at 7:04 am MDT.

Pledge of Allegiance was spoken.

Motion to approve the agenda was made by Brenda Hanten, seconded by Jim Schmidt. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion to approve August 11, 2021 Minutes was made by Dean Wagner, seconded by Casey Krogman. Motion carried unanimously.

Greg Sattizahn, Unified Judicial System (UJS) State Court Administrator presented background information to the Board regarding SDCL 22-14-28. The UJS is proposing that the opt-out provision be removed and the UJS seek legislative approval to substantially increase the security grant program and perhaps find other grants and dollars to enhance security at courthouses around the State.

Mitch Richter from "South Dakotans Decide Healthcare" presented Medicaid expansion information and ballot effort. A motion to endorse the ballot effort was made by Jim Schmidt, motion died due to lack of a second. This topic will be revisited after the first of the year.

The Financial Report was given by Treasurer Brenda Hanten. Motion to approve the financial report was made by Lee Gabel, seconded by Gary Drewes. Motion carried unanimously.

NACo President Larry Johnson and John Losh, NACo Associate Membership Director joined the Board meeting. President Johnson briefed the Board with a NACo update on various topics. He congratulated South Dakota as a 100% membership state.

During President's Open Discussion: Deb Russell brought up a concern that counties personnel are resigning as a result of commissioner treatment. A suggestion to provide a workshop to discourage micromanagement and asked that the board please think of suggestions to improve the support for those offices. Other suggestions included: publicize the SDACC handbook that is available, an orientation process along with a suggestion the oath of office be revisited on a regular basis, encourage conference attendance, support when dealing with difficult constituents, and the need to treat the other elected officials as peers.

Lee Gabel presented his resignation from the Board. Motion to accept Lee Gabel's resignation and appoint proxy Brenda Hanten to represent the Sioux Valley District was made by Rachel Kippley, seconded by Jim Schmidt. Motion carried unanimously.

A Motion to move into Executive Session at 9:30 am MDT was made by Rachel Kippley, seconded by Jim Schmidt. Motion carried unanimously.

President Russell declared out of executive session at 9:36 am MDT.

A Motion to approve contract for Kris Jacobsen as executive director with a slight modification to observed holidays was made by Dean Wagner, seconded by Gary Drewes. Motion carried unanimously.

President Russell declared meeting adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Kris Jacobsen, Executive Director