## South Dakota Association of County Commissioners Board of Directors Board Meeting Wednesday, August 11, 2021 MINUTES

The SDACC Board of Directors met on Wednesday, August 11, 2021 at the Arrowwood Cedar Shore Hotel, Breakwater meeting room, Oacoma, SD. Roll call was taken with the following members present: Deb Russell, President; Rachel Kippley, 1<sup>st</sup> Vice President; Cindy Heiberger, Past President; Brenda Hanten, Treasurer; Duane Sutton, Bill Floyd, Brenda Bode, Casey Krogman, Jim Schmidt, Dean Wagner, Chad Preszler and Gary Drewes. Staff present: Kris Jacobsen, Executive Director and Eric Erickson, SDACC Lobbyist. Absent: Dean Karsky, 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice President and Lee Gabel. Quorum was established.

President Russell called the meeting to order at 10:10 am CDT.

Introductions were done.

Motion to approve the agenda was made by Duane Sutton, seconded by Gary Drewes. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion to amend the June 24, 2021 Minutes by adding "and approval of severance package for Bob Wilcox" to the Executive session motion was made by Cindy Heiberger, seconded by Dean Wagner. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion to approve the amended June 24, 2021 Minutes was made by Bill Floyd, seconded by Jim Schmidt. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion to approve the June 29, 2021 Teleconference Minutes was made by Duane Sutton, seconded by Brenda Hanten. Motion carried unanimously.

The Financial Report was given by Treasurer Brenda Hanten. Motion to approve the financial report was made by Bill Floyd, seconded by Casey Krogman. Motion carried unanimously.

President Russell began her President's report. She stated that she has been in regular contact with the Association office as we move along with the Executive Director transition. Input from the Board was requested as she prepares to meet with Chief Justice Steven Jensen; Greg Sattizahn, State Court Administrator; and Gary Jaeger, Deuel County Commissioner regarding courthouse security legislation.

Executive Director Kris Jacobsen's report included the following topics: RAIF or HB1259 update, ARPA proposal from Eide Bailly-research white paper cost and report back, Marijuana, Office Manager position, Bennett County meeting update, 2021 Convention, district meeting attendance, court security program, Ag Unity meeting, Boston Mutual insurance, sour gas and pipeline safety, rural cellular network funding, NACo program – CashVest, study on the newspaper rate increase, commissioner panel during the SDLTAP Regional Local Roads conference. In depth discussion was held on various topics with input from Eric Erickson, SDACC Lobbyist. (additional informational documents attached in Minutes book)

Eric Erickson, SDACC Lobbyist began his Legislative Review. Action items included: Road Funding (HB1259), County Jail funding, Workforce Housing, Medical and Recreational Marijuana, Fall Legislative Special session, Bond Elections, County Alcohol licenses, county drainage. (Copy attached in Minutes book). Board discussion with a question and answer time were included with each topic.

Jim Schmidt, NACo Board Representative presented the NACo Overview of the US Treasury Guidance for State and Local Fiscal Recovery Funds (ARPA). (copy attached in Minutes book). Most Counties have already applied and received the first half of the ARPA funds. Most are holding the monies until further information is received for eligible expenses. Due to the complexity of the program, was discussed that the association find a local resource for counties to access for help with the ARPA process.

Unfinished Business: Discussion ensued regarding SDACC By-Laws changes and district voting parameters. A small committee consisting of Rachel Kippley, Duane Sutton and Kris Jacobsen was formed to make finalized changes.

An Executive Director evaluation form is to be updated and a formal process to be implemented moving forward.

New Business: It was requested to have a formal Parliamentarian at convention during the Annual Business meeting. Discussion of building ownership was brought forth.

Eric Erickson, SDACC Lobbyist updated the Board on several legislative topics that have come to his attention that may have potential legislative action in 2022: Wind power road agreements and Bond issues.

Motion to secure Roger Tellinghuisen and Craig Mattson as additional SDACC Lobbyists was made by Duane Sutton, seconded by Jim Schmidt. Motion carried unanimously.

A motion to move into Executive Session at 1:29 pm CDT was made by Brenda Bode, seconded by Duane Sutton. Motion carried unanimously. President Russell declared out of Executive Session at 1:43 pm CDT.

Discussion ensued regarding the current By-Laws and District voting. A motion to clarify SDACC By-laws to state one vote per district with the SDACC President voting to tie break was made by Dean Wagner, seconded by Gary Drewes. Motion carried by a vote of 7 yeas, 5 nays.

A motion to adjourn was made by Brenda Bode, seconded by Dean Wagner. Motion carried unanimously.

Respectfully submitted,

Kris Jacobsen, Executive Director