South Dakota Association of County Commissioners Board of Directors Board Meeting Thursday, August 4, 2022 MINUTES

The SDACC Board of Directors met on Thursday, August 4, 2022. Roll call was taken with the following members present: Dean Karsky, President; Gary Drewes, 1st Vice President; Brenda Hanten, 2nd Vice President; Dan Klimisch, Treasurer; Duane Sutton, Brenda Bode, Dean Wagner, Bill Floyd, Jim Schmidt, Chad Preszler, Casey Krogman and Ex Officio Board member: Randy Deibert, WIR Board Representative. Absent: Deb Russell, Past President. Staff present: Kris Jacobsen, Executive Director; Kade Haley, Office Manager; and Eric Erickson, SDACC Lobbyist. Quorum was established.

President Karsky called the meeting to order at 11:00 am CDT.

Motion to approve the agenda was made by Duane Sutton, seconded by Brenda Hanten. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion to approve the May 19, 2022 Minutes was made by Bill Floyd, seconded by Duane Sutton. Motion carried unanimously.

Financial report was given by Treasurer Dan Klimisch. Executive Director Jacobsen gave an update on the Cash Management system that is being incorporated. The office is directed to research an accounting firm or contact SD Legislative Audit to conduct either an annual or bi-annual review of SDACC financial records. A motion to approve the financial report was made by Duane Sutton, seconded by Gary Drewes. Motion carried unanimously.

Introductions were held for newest employee – Kade Haley.

President Dean Karsky reported that he attended the NACo Annual conference in Denver and participated in the review of the SDACC Amended and Restated Bylaws.

SDACC Lobbyist Eric Erickson reviewed the "SDACC Amended and Restated ByLaws" section by section. Questions were answered and several changes were suggested. A motion to present the Amended and Restated ByLaws to the SDACC Membership was made by Duane Sutton, seconded by Dean Wagner. Motion carried unanimously.

A motion to move into Executive Session for personnel matters at 12:00 noon CDT was made by Duane Sutton, seconded by Brenda Hanten. Motion carried unanimously.

The SDACC Board of Directors declared out of Executive session at 12:59 pm CDT. A motion to retitle Kade Haley to Deputy Director, and increase his salary to \$47,600 was made by Jim Schmidt, seconded by Bill Floyd. Motion carried unanimously.

Executive Director Kris Jacobsen reported on the following topics: SDPAA is working diligently to secure federal funding for cybersecurity. It is estimated that SD could receive \$2 - \$2.5M for FY2022 and another \$10M over a four-year period from the Cybersecurity and infrastructure Security Agency (CISA) grant. The Governor's team is contemplating refusing the grant. The SD Electric Vehicle Infrastructure

Deployment plan submission deadline was August 1. SDDOT contracted with HDR to complete the plan application process. An update from Commissioner Darin Seeley from the SD Bureau of Human Resources regarding counties joining the SD State Health Plan was presented. Due to lack of responses, this option will not be offered to counties. SDDOT released the RAIF Funding guide. The deadline for Townships to present 5 year plans to county commissions is August 31.

Discussion ensued regarding the Interim Legislative Task Force / Summer Study committees.

- Legislative Task Force on Incarceration Construction Fund
- Study Committee on Regional Jails and State Correctional Plans
- Study Committee on Juvenile Justice
- Study Committee on Property Tax Structure and Tax Burden

A new NACo initiative – Operation Green Light for Veterans was presented. A toolkit link was sent out to counties. The first Court Security grant applications were awarded to six counties. One additional application was deferred to the September meeting. A short update on the 2022 convention was presented. (copy of report attached in Minutes book)

New Business: Following discussion, a motion to endorse Public Surplus was made by Duane Sutton, seconded by Brenda Hanten. Motion carried unanimously.

A motion to appoint Executive Director Kris Jacobsen to the SD Municipal League Workers Compensation (SDML WC) Board for the Jan 2023 – Dec 2025 term was made by Bill Floyd, seconded by Jim Schmidt.

A motion to appoint Executive Director Kris Jacobsen to the SD Local Transportation Assistance Program (SDLTAP) Advisory Board for the Jan 2023 – Dec 2025 term was made by Dean Wagner, seconded by Duane Sutton. Motion carried unanimously.

A motion to reimburse SDACC President Dean Karsky for sleeping room at the NACo Annual Conference was made by Dan Klimisch, seconded by Bill Floyd. Motion carried unanimously.

A motion to adjourn was made by Duane Sutton, seconded by Brenda Hanten. Motion carried unanimously.

Respectfully submitted,

Kris Jacobsen, Executive Director