South Dakota Association of County Commissioners Board of Directors Board Meeting Thursday, May 19, 2022 MINUTES

The SDACC Board of Directors met on Thursday, May 19, 2022. Roll call was taken with the following members present: Dean Karsky, President; Gary Drewes, 1st Vice President; Brenda Hanten, 2nd Vice President; Dan Klimisch, Treasurer; Duane Sutton, Brenda Bode, Dean Wagner, Bill Floyd and Casey Krogman. Absent: Deb Russell, Past President; Jim Schmidt, Chad Preszler and Ex Officio Board member: Randy Deibert, WIR Board Representative. Staff present: Kris Jacobsen, Executive Director; Eric Erickson, SDACC Lobbyist and Mary Jorgenson, Administrative Assistant. Quorum was established.

President Karsky called the meeting to order at 9:59 am CDT.

Pledge of Allegiance was spoken.

Motion to approve the agenda was made by Brenda Hanten, seconded by Gary Drewes. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion to approve the December 8, 2021 Minutes was made by Bill Floyd, seconded by Duane Sutton. Motion carried unanimously.

Financial report was given by Treasurer Dan Klimisch. A motion to approve the financial report was made by Duane Sutton, seconded by Brenda Hanten. Motion carried unanimously.

Brett Koenecke, Attorney from May, Adam, Gerdes Law Firm. He presented information regarding the Summit Carbon Pipeline (information attached). Questions were addressed from the Board.

Executive Director Kris Jacobsen and Lobbyist Eric Erickson reported a 2022 Legislative update to the Board. Questions were addressed regarding SB162 – Discretionary formula changes, the \$25M increased funding for the Rural Access Infrastructure Fund (RAIF), and county sales tax funding.

Discussion ensued regarding the Interim Legislative Task Force / Summer Study committees.

- Legislative Task Force on Incarceration Construction Fund
- Study Committee on Regional Jails and State Correctional Plans
- Study Committee on Juvenile Justice
- Study Committee on Property Tax Structure and Tax Burden

Executive Director Kris Jacobsen updated the Board regarding Rural Access Infrastructure Fund (RAIF) program. Culvert and Small Bridge inventory has been happening within counties. The deadline for inventory submission is May 31. There is no draft 5-year plan from SDDOT. A group has been selected and have been meeting regarding the National Elective Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) program and the federal dollars that are tied to this program. A consulting firm has been hired to create a state plan to increase the EV resources along I90 and I29 by the August 1st deadline. This office has been working with David Pfeifle, SDPAA and Greg Sattizahn, UJS to gather Court Appointed Attorney costs and information. Chief Justice Jensen would like to pursue the idea of a Regional Public Defender option for counties. UJS also shared draft legislation to modify the number of peremptory challenges in SDCL 23A-

20-20. Election Integrity has been a hot topic within counties. Contact will be made with the Secretary of State's office regarding any help available for counties. Cybersecurity is critical within counties. Jim Edman from Cybersecurity & Infrastructure Security Agency (CISA) has been presenting around the state on the importance of increasing security and guidelines to follow to reduce the risk of cyberattacks. SDPAA offers cyber insurance and in conjunction with Dakota State University, have been conducting cybersecurity assessments in member counties. The state received ARPA dollars dedicated to this project. A grant program is being developed to benefit local governments.

2023 Convention update: Executive Director Kris Jacobsen met with the Denny Sanford Center in Sioux Falls for a 2023 Convention proposal. A proposal from the Sioux Falls Ramkota was also received. Following proposal reviews, a motion to pursue a contract with the Sioux Falls Denny Sanford Center was made by Duane Sutton, seconded by Casey Krogman. Motion carried unanimously.

President Dean Karsky reported that he has been attending county district meetings and plans to attend the NACo Annual conference in July.

New Business: Guidelines on the Court-Ordered Competency fund will be reviewed and updated. Discussion will be held with Greg Sattizahn, UJS.

Due to 100% NACo membership, the association is allowed two NACo Board members. Currently Jim Schmidt, Lincoln County Commissioner is elected to one position for SDACC. Discussion regarding SDACO securing the second NACo position. Following discussion, a motion to appoint Susan Kiepke, Davison County Auditor to the second NACo Board position for July 2022 – Sept 2023 at SDACO expense was made by Duane Sutton, seconded by Dean Wagner. Motion carried unanimously.

SDACC engaged in a contract with Eide Bailly to assist counties regarding ARPA funding issues with the US Treasury. The contract threshold amount of \$10,000 has been reached and services are no longer needed. A motion to refund member counties the remaining funds was made by Brenda Hanten, seconded by Dan Klimisch. Motion carried unanimously.

Gary Drewes, 1st Vice President and Dean Wagner updated the Board regarding the Veteran Administration facilities and a letter of support to keep both the Hot Springs, Fall River County and Sturgis, Meade County facilities open to provide accessible locations for veterans across the state. They feel both communities must remain viable even though a new facility is being built in Rapid City. Both Hot Springs and Sturgis serve vastly different regions and populations. Fall River and Meade Counties are going to draft the resolution. A motion for SDACC President Dean Karsky to sign onto the Black Hills District Resolution to the congressional delegation was made by Duane Sutton, seconded by Brenda Bode. Motion carried unanimously.

Gary Drewes, 1st Vice President presented the Black Hills District resolution to amend SDCL 32-5-127 to update charges allowed for mailing license plates and decals. Currently statute allows for \$5.00 mailing fee for new vehicle plates and \$2 for vehicle plate decals. This is not enough to cover current postage rates. With the USPS Deliver for America program, the USPS will be raising postage costs on a continual basis. Discussion was deferred to the August resolution meeting.

Unfinished Business: Suggested By-Laws changes were reviewed. Eric Erickson will review and clarify several sections. The current SDACC Mission Statement will also be reviewed.

A motion to move into Executive Session for personnel was made at 2:35 PM CST by Brenda Hanten, seconded by Duane Sutton. Motion carried unanimously.

A motion to move out of Executive Session was made at 2:57 PM CST by Gary Drewes, seconded by Brenda Hanten. Motion carried unanimously.

President Dean Karsky adjourned the meeting.

Respectfully submitted,

Kris Jacobsen, Executive Director