South Dakota Association of County Commissioners Board of Directors Board Meeting Tuesday, March 16, 2021 MINUTES

The SDACC Board of Directors met on Tuesday, March 16, 2021 at the SD Counties meeting room, Pierre, SD. Roll call was taken with the following members present: Deb Russell, President; Rachel Kippley, 1st Vice President Dean Karsky, 2nd Vice President. Cindy Heiberger, Past President; Brenda Hanten, Treasurer; Duane Sutton, Brenda Bode, Casey Krogman, Jim Schmidt, Dean Wagner. Telephonic participation: Gary Drewes, Dave Albrecht. Staff present: Bob Wilcox, Executive Director and Kris Jacobsen, Deputy Director. Absent: Bill Floyd and Robert Olson. Quorum was established.

President Russell called the meeting to order at 4:00 pm CDT.

Pledge of Allegiance was spoken.

Motion to approve the agenda was made by Rachel Kippley, seconded by Duane Sutton. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion to approve the December 9, 2020, January 20, 2021, February 8, 2021, and February 17, 2021 Minutes was made by Duane Sutton, seconded by Brenda Hanten. Motion carried unanimously.

The Financial Report was given by Treasurer Brenda Hanten. Motion to approve the financial report was made by Duane Sutton, seconded by Dean Wagner. Motion carried unanimously.

Executive Director Bob Wilcox began his report with a Legislative update. Bills covered: HB 1259, appropriating \$6,000,000.00 for rural access infrastructure improvements, HB 1237, appropriating \$3,329,000.00 for the purpose of helping fund the local match for federal funding of local government bridge replacement, SB 181- Appropriating \$1,500,000 for road improvements leading to the State Veterans Cemetery, SB 150 - clarify the penalty for using fireworks in violation of a county resolution, SB 142 - modify the meeting place and notice requirements for county commission meetings, SB 152 - authorize counties to issue a limited number of off-sale liquor licenses along with the SD Conservation District funding and multiple property tax bills.

Risty Benefits joined the Board meeting via ZOOM to present information on a Multiple Employer Welfare Arrangement (MEWA). This is a way for a group of employers (counties) to pool their resources to get their employees better health-insurance options. Following the presentation, questions from the Board were addressed. Discussion continued once the ZOOM presentation ended. A motion to move forward with Risty Benefits to survey counties regarding interest in the program was made by Rachel Kippley, seconded by Jim Schmidt. Motion carried unanimously

Deputy Director Kris Jacobsen updated the Board on the 2021 County Commissioner workshop being held March 17-18 at the Pierre Ramkota. Speaker introductions were distributed.

President Deb Russell's report included how busy the legislative session was. She engaged on the NACo Western Interstate Region (WIR) Virtual meeting and found it very interesting. She shared with the

Board, information from the Fall River County Director of Equalization and the detrimental impact from the most current SDSU soil ratings.

Jim Schmidt reported on a major victory for America's counties, the State and Local Coronavirus Fiscal Recovery Funds legislation, part of the American Rescue Plan Act, was signed into law by President Biden on March 11. The legislation includes \$65.1 billion in direct, flexible aid to every county in America. South Dakota's portion totals \$171,574,165.

Samples of Mission Statements from other states were shared in an attempt to update SDACC's statement. More research will be done and discussion will carry over to the next Board meeting.

New Business: Several South Dakota counties have passed a Second Amendment Sanctuary resolution. Harding County is drafting a resolution to encompass all the constitutional amendments. Their draft will be shared with the entire Board for discussion at a later date.

Unfinished Business: Detailed discussion ensued regarding SDACC By-Laws. Clarification will be made regarding district representation and voting requirements.

President Russell declared a recess at 6:33 pm CDT. The Board reconvened at 7:00 pm CDT.

A motion to move into Executive Session at 7:01 pm CDT was made by Duane Sutton, seconded by Cindy Heiberger. Motion carried unanimously.

Declared out of Executive session at 7:45 pm CDT with a motion to adjourn was made by Duane Sutton, seconded by Gary Drewes. Motion carried unanimously.

Respectfully submitted,

Bob Wilcox, Executive Director