South Dakota Association of County Commissioners Annual Business Meeting Tuesday September 13. 2022 Ramkota Hotel – Pierre, SD

The South Dakota Association of County Commissioners held its annual business meeting on Tuesday, September 13, 2022 in Amphitheatre II at the Ramkota Hotel in Pierre, SD. President Dean Karsky called the meeting to order at 11:03 AM CDT. Pledge of Allegiance was spoken. Roll call of the member counties determined with 36 Counties present that a quorum was established.

A motion to approve the agenda was made by Lincoln County, seconded by Codington County. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

A motion to dispense the reading and to approve the 2021 Minutes was made by Brown County, seconded by Yankton County. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

The SDACC Treasurers Report was read by SDACC Treasurer Dan Klimisch. A motion to approve the reading of the Treasurers report was made by Codington County, seconded by Fall River County. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Public comment: None

NACo Board member Jim Schmidt briefed the membership on NACo activities including the Farm Bill, environmental issues, and possible electric grid issues for electric vehicles. He also encouraged attendance at the 2023 NACo Legislative Conference set for February.

WIR Board member Randy Deibert spoke about PILT being fully funded, infrastructure bill, relationships he has built since participating on WIR and being active within NACo.

Unfinished Business: None

New Business: None

Nominating Committee Chair Matt DeBow offered the following slate of candidates. With the resignation of Rachel Kippley following the 2021 convention – each member advanced their position. The only election this year is the Treasurer position.

President:

1st Vice President:

2nd Vice President:

Dean Karsky (East River)

Gary Drewes (West River)

Brenda Hanten (East River)

Treasurer: Dan Klimisch, Yankton County – 2nd 1 year term

President Karsky asked for nominations from the floor for Treasurer. There were no nominations from the floor. A motion to cease nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Dan Klimisch was made by Brown County, seconded by Harding County. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Resolutions Committee Chair Gary Drewes offered the following Resolutions:

Resolution 2022-1: A Resolution in Support of Amending Current South Dakota State Law § 32-5-127 to Update Additional Charges Allowed for Mailing Decals and Plates was brought forth to the membership. Holli Hennies, Pennington County Commission Assistant presented resolution information.

A do pass motion was made by Lawrence County, seconded by Yankton County. Motion by a unanimous vote.

Resolution 2022-2 A Resolution Requesting the Amendment of SDCL 61-5-40 was presented to the membership by LeeAnn Pierce, Brookings County Commissioner. A do pass motion was made by Pennington County, seconded by Codington County. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Resolution 2022-3 **A Resolution to amend SDCL 28-13 et seq. to provide a date certain by which hospital applications must be fully and finally adjudicated** was sent to Policy Statement #27 SDACC supports streamlining county poor relief statutes to allow for a simpler administration, more-predictable results, and efficient use of taxpayer dollars.

Policy Statement #6 was also amended to the following: SDACC encourages the South Dakota legislature to examine the costs of problems of alcohol and drug abuse and implement a tax on liquor and cannabis sales to assist counties with jails, law enforcement and detox centers. A do pass motion was made by Yankton County, seconded by Codington County. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Eric Erickson, Attorney and SDACC Lobbyist presented the Amended and Reinstated SDACC By-Laws. This document redefines the SDACC By-laws in a clear manner. A do pass motion was made by Brown County, seconded by Mellette County. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

A motion to suspend the rules was made by Minnehaha County, seconded by Brown County. A roll call vote was held - 5 yeas, 29 nays. Motion failed.

President Karsky encouraged the membership to be involved within their respective districts and association functions.

A motion to adjourn the SDACC General membership meeting was made by Yankton County, seconded by Marshall County. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Respectfully submitted,

Kris Jacobsen, Executive Director