South Dakota Association of County Commissioners Annual Business Meeting Tuesday September 14, 2021 Ramkota Hotel – Rapid City, SD

The South Dakota Association of County Commissioners held its annual business meeting on Tuesday, September 14, 2021 in Sylvan II at the Ramkota Hotel in Rapid City, SD. President Deb Russell called the meeting to order at 11:00 AM MDT. Pledge of Allegiance was spoken. Roll call of the member counties determined with 36 Counties present that a quorum was established.

A motion to approve the agenda was made by Lincoln County, seconded by Codington County. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

A motion to dispense with the reading of the Minutes of the last meeting was made by Codington County, seconded by Pennington County. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

A motion approve the Minutes was made by Harding County, seconded by Codington County. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

The SDACC Treasurers Report was read by SDACC Treasurer Brenda Hanten. A motion to approve the reading of the Treasurers report was made by Deuel County, seconded by Codington County. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Public comment: None

NACo President Larry Johnson was unable to attend the General Membership meeting due to expedited travel. Lincoln County Commissioner Jim Schmidt shared with the membership a few words from the Honorable Larry Johnson. He and his wife, Dr. Tanisha Johnson were delighted to attend the SD Convention.

Old Business: None

New Business: Executive Director Kris Jacobsen updated the membership on the current status of an engagement with Eide Bailly and the SD Planning Districts to help counties with the ARPA dollars distributed to the counties.

Nominating Committee Chair Matt DeBow offered the following slate of candidates:

President: Rachel Kippley (East River)

1st Vice President: Dean Karsky (East River)

2nd Vice President: Gary Drewes (West River)

Treasurer: Dan Klimisch
NACo Board: Jim Schmidt
WIR Board: Lloyd LaCroix
Randy Deibert

President Russell asked for nominations from the floor for President. There were no nominations from the floor. A motion to cease nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Rachel Kippley was made by Lincoln, seconded by Deuel County. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

President Russell asked for nominations from the floor for 1st Vice President. There were no nominations from the floor. A motion to cease nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Dean Karsky was made by Minnehaha County, seconded by Haakon County. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

President Russell asked for nominations from the floor for 2nd Vice President. There were no nominations from the floor. A motion to cease nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Gary Drewes was made by Brown County, seconded by Harding County. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

President Russell asked for nominations from the floor for Treasurer. There were no nominations from the floor. A motion to cease nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Dan Klimisch was made by Lincoln County, seconded by Brown County. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

President Russell asked for nominations from the floor for NACo Board of Directors. There were no nominations from the floor. A motion to cease nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Jim Schmidt was made by Deuel County, seconded by Davison County. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

President Russell allowed Western Interstate Region (WIR) candidates a couple of minutes to present themselves to the membership before the election. Ballots were distributed, collected and counted. By a vote of 19 to 15, with two ballots disqualified, Randy Deibert received the majority vote.

A plaque of appreciation was presented to President Russell by President Elect Rachel Kippley.

Resolutions Committee Chair Rachel Kippley offered the following Resolutions:

Resolution 2021-1: To seek an act to minimize taxpayer costs when funding county infrastructure construction. was presented to the membership. Lee Gabel, Codington County Commissioner shared an informational video with the membership. A do pass motion was made by Borwn County, seconded by Lawrence County. Motion by a unanimous vote.

Resolution 2021-2 Require the State to work with the Counties to ensure that delinquent taxes are paid before ownership is transferred or the State taking possession of the property was presented to the membership by Dean Wagner, Harding County Commissioner. A do pass motion was made by Lawrence County, seconded by Codington County. Motion by a unanimous vote.

Resolution 2021-3 Requesting the Department of Revenue exclude fingerprinting fees from sales tax. was brought forth by Angela Boersma, Brookings County Commissioner. A do pass motion was made by Lincoln County, seconded by Potter County. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Resolution 2021-04 Amending current South Dakota Codified Law 7-18A-16 to establish clear guidance for the time of filing referendum petition. Gary Drewes, Pennington County Commissioner presented information regarding this resolution. A do pass motion was made by Harding County, seconded by Hand County. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Resolution 2021-05 Supporting legislation to lower local costs associated with expanding water and wastewater infrastructure. Dean Karsky, Minnehaha County Commissioner presented information regarding this resolution. A do pass motion was made by Walworth County, seconded by Codington County. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Resolution 2021-06 Supporting review of the housing valuation for the elderly and disabled tax property tax freeze. Resolution was pulled by SDACC Resolution Committee.

Resolution 2021-07 Supporting legislation to prohibit juvenile detention facilities to be used to hold a minor who meets the criteria of SDCL 27A-15-20 for involuntary commitment. Cindy Heiberger explained this resolution to the membership. A do pass motion was made by Brookings County, seconded by Davison County. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Resolution 2021-08 **Supporting efforts to provide diversion services for youth and adults.** Updated information was presented regarding this resolution being moved into SDACC Policy Statement #24 that reads as follows:

SDACC supports South Dakota Codified Law be amended to provide funding for mental health, education, intervention, <u>diversion of youth and adult low-level offenders</u>, and treatment programs to prevent and deter drug and alcohol abuse, also support the development of Triage Centers by eliminating regulatory barriers. (2018) (amended 2019)

A do pass motion was made by Brookings County, seconded by Davison County. Motion carried by a unanimous vote.

President Elect Rachel Kippley briefed the membership on two topics brought before the SDACC Board of Directors: Medicaid expansion ballot efforts and potential legislation from the Unified Judicial System (UJS) regarding concealed carry in the courthouse. The SDACC By-Laws are being reviewed and updated for presentation at the next annual meeting. She encouraged the membership to reach out to legislators before the 2022 session begins and establish dialog regarding county issues.

President Russell thanked the membership for the opportunity to serve as president this past year.

A motion to adjourn the SDACC General membership meeting was made by Deuel County, seconded by Brookings County. Motion carried unanimously.

Respectfully submitted,

Kris Jacobsen, Executive Director